Toyota/Lexus/Scion Among Industry Leaders in Many February 2010 Sales Categories

March 09, 2010
TORRANCE, Calif., March 9, 2010 - - February 2010 automotive industry sales results saw Toyota, Lexus and Scion models rank prominently among brand and segment leaders.  Overall Toyota sales in February topped all other Asian and European manufacturers.  February also saw Toyota claim two of the top three selling passenger cars in the U.S. Toyota once again dominated the hybrid market, while Tacoma continues to overwhelmingly lead the small pickup truck segment. 
 
Toyota/Lexus/Scion February Sales Rankings
 
Total TMS
• TMS ranked #3 in total U.S. sales with 100,027 units sold for a 12.8 percent share (#1 among international divisions)
 
Light Truck Sales
• Toyota ranked #3 out of 32 manufacturers with 33,413 units sold for a 9.1 share
• Tacoma ranked #1 in small pickup sales with 8,325 units sold and 45.6 percent share (more than double its closest competitor)
• Toyota/Lexus ranked #1 among non-American divisions (Asian and European) with 40,834 units sold for an 11.1 share
 
SUV Sales
• Lexus RX350/450h ranked #1 in Near Luxury SUV sales with 5,694 units sold for a 24.3 percent share, nearly double its closest competitor
 
Passenger Car Sales
• Corolla ranked #2 with 16,996 units sold
• Corolla ranked #1 in Subcompact segment with a 14.9 percent share
• Camry ranked #3 with 16,552 units sold
• Camry ranked #2 in Standard Midsize segment with a 10.2 percent share
• Yaris ranked #3 in Entry Subcompact segment with a 14.2 percent share
• Scion tC ranked #3 in sporty Subcompact segment with a 13.5 percent share
• Lexus LS ranked #2 in Prestige Luxury Sedan segment with a 25.8 percent share
 
Hybrid Sales
• Total TMS hybrids ranked #1 with sales of 10,957 units sold with a 35.5 percent share
• Prius was the #1 hybrid, commanding a 56.3 percent share among all hybrid passenger cars and 47.8 percent of all hybrids sold.
• Lexus RX450h ranked #1in the Hybrid Light Trucks segment with a 35.2 percent share
• Highlander Hybrid ranked #3 in the Hybrid Light Trucks segment with a 13.4 percent share
 
# # #
 
NOTE TO EDITORS: Photos to accompany this story are available and can be retrieved in digital form by media without charge at http://www.toyotanewsroom.com.
CONTACTS:
 
Toyota Division Communications
Greg Thome  (310) 468-3279 or greg_thome@toyota.com
David Lee  (310) 468-2077 or david_lee@toyota.com
Sam Butto  (310) 468-2077 or sam_butto@toyota.com
 
Scion Public Relations
Craig Taguchi  (310) 468-3279 or craig_taguchi@tscion.com
 
Lexus Public Relations
Ming-Jou Chen (310) 468-4782 of ming-jou_chen@lexus.com
Allison Takahashi (310) 468-5315 or allison_takahashi@lexus.com
Bill Kwong   (310) 468-3764 or bill_kwong@lexus.com
 
Media Web sites:  http://www.toyotanewsroom.com
          http://www.lexusnewsroom.com
         http://www.scionnewsroom.com
         http://www.helloscion.com
 
Public Web site:    http://www.toyota.com
         http://www.lexus.com
         http://www.scion.com

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.




This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.

Copyright Notice

All materials on this site are for editorial use only. The use of these materials for advertising, marketing or any other commercial purpose is prohibited. They may be cropped but not otherwise modified. To download these materials, you must agree to abide by these terms.